HackQC 2019


The hackathon is a competition where we must realize a project in 48h using the open data of several Quebec organizations such as City of Montreal, Quebec City, SAAQ, etc. This year, we have created a team composed of several members of Cédille and App | ETS to attend this competition which took place in Quebec City. What we didn’t knew was that we were about to win the first place!

Photo des gagnants de HackQC

Picture by: Ralph Samson

If the project that we realized interests you, I integrated the presentation of our project in this article. There it is:


Tragile (Easy Traveling)

There are many applications and services out there for road traffic and public transit, but they are all leaving a significant and growing part of citizens in a city: pedestrians and cyclists. The risk of an accident for them is however very high. In addition, each person is unique, therefore each user has his own peculiarities that influence his way of traveling. We wanted to take into account the peculiarities of everyone, however it be the person is visually impaired, with an infant, colorblind, agoraphobic or mobility impaired (wheelchair, stroller, traveler with suitcase, crutch, etc.). This promotes accessibility and security when everyone travels using the safest path.

What our software do

Tragile provides the user with different routes to reach his destination, and every path is accompanied by a safety index. This score is calculated from a set of datasets, such as the presence of pedestrian lights (sound or not) and the archive of automobile collisions of an intersection. This allows us to calculate a safety index that reflects the particularities of the user.

Future improvements

  • Offer a web platform for cities so that they can visualize intersections at risk.
  • Promote universal accessibility by taking into account more criteria for users.
  • Consider more modes of transportation, such as public transit.

How we implemented it

To begin, we composed our software in two parts: - Web server, containing the information to calculate the accessibility index for several possible paths between the departure and the destination according to the constraints defined by the user. - Mobile app, intuitive portal to select a path and configure its accessibility profile

Problems encountered

During the design and implementation of our software, we had several problems:

  • The normalization of different cities’s data to consistent and reusable format.
  • Selected technologies for the mobile application.
  • Agreeing on the data format that will be shared between the client and the server.
  • Creating an algorithm to calculate the security index while taking in account the constraints issued by the user.

Source code

Backend & Frontend

HackQC 2019


Le hackathon HackQC est une compétition ou nous devons réaliser un projet en 48h en utilisant les données ouvertes de plusieurs organisations québécoises telles que la ville de Montréal, de Québec, SAAQ et etc. Cette année, nous avons créer une équipe composées de plusieurs membres de Cédille et d’App|ETS pour participer à cette compétition qui aura lieu à Québec. Ce que nous ne savions pas, c’est que nous allons remporter la première place!

Photo des gagnants de HackQC

Photo prise par: Ralph Samson

Si le projet que nous avons réalisé vous intéresse, j’ai intégré la présentation de notre projet dans cet article. La voici:


Tragile (Trajet facile)

Il existe beaucoup d’applications et de services pour le trafic routier et le transport en commun, délaissant toujours une partie non négligeable et grandissante de citoyens dans une ville : les piétons et les cyclistes. Le risque d’accident pour eux est pourtant très élevé. De plus, chaque personne est unique, par conséquent chaque utilisateur a ses propres particularités qui influencent sa façon de se déplacer. Nous avons voulu tenir compte des particularités de chacun, que la personne soit malvoyante, avec un enfant en bas âge, daltonien, agoraphobe ou à mobilité réduite (personne en fauteuil roulant, poussette, voyageur avec valise, béquille, etc.). Cela favorise l’accessibilité et la sécurité lors des déplacements de tous.

Ce que le logiciel réalise

Tragile fournit à l’utilisateur différents itinéraires pour atteindre sa destination. Chaque chemin est accompagné d’une note de sûreté. Cette note est calculée à partir d’un ensemble de jeux de données, tels que la présence de feux piétonniers (sonores ou non) et l’archive des collisions automobiles d’une intersection. Cela nous permet de calculer une note qui reflète les particularités de l’utilisateur.

Améliorations futures

  • Plateforme web pour les villes afin qu’elles puissent visualiser les intersections à risque.
  • Promouvoir l’accessibilité universelle en tenant compte de plus de critères pour les utilisateurs
  • Considérer plus de modes de transport, tel que le transport en commun

Comment nous l’avons implémenté

Pour commencer, nous avons composé notre logiciel en deux parties: - Serveur web, contenant les informations permettant de calculer l’indice d’accessibilité pour plusieurs chemins possibles entre le départ et la destination suivant les contraintes définies par l’usager. - Application mobile, portail intuitif permettant de sélectionner un chemin et configurer son profil d’accessibilité

Problèmes rencontrés

Lors de la conception et l’implémentation de notre logiciel, nous avons eu plusieurs soucis:

  • La normalisation des données de différentes villes vers un format uniforme et réutilisable
  • L’utilisation de nouvelles technologies pour l’application mobile.
  • S’entendre sur le format de données qui sera partagé entre le client et le serveur.
  • Trouver un algorithme afin de calculer l’indice de sûreté en tenant compte des contraintes émises par l’usager

Code source

Backend et Frontend